Out with the old, in with the new.

Current setting: Desk of my new apartment surrounded by books, paper, pens, highlighters, my planner, and a burning WoodWick candle. (Side note: if you don’t burn WoodWick candles– I highly recommend).

Honestly the last several days have been a bit of a blur. I didn’t think that time could manage to go by any faster; however, since I have been here, I feel like time is FLYING. Weird. I’m not totally loving it here yet, but I’m getting there. City life is so so so different.

Updates:

I went to a Red Sox game this past weekend! What an experience! I grew up with a die-hard Mets fan as a mother. Her yelling at the TV on any given game night was a normal thing. I don’t know what it is, but I truly feel like people in the North are just much more passionate about their professional sports than they are down south. I have never been surrounded by so many screaming, passionate, loving fans before. Everyone was SUPER nice, despite the roller coaster of emotions that game.

School officially started!! πŸ‘πŸΌπŸ‘πŸΌπŸ‘πŸΌπŸ‘πŸΌ

Right now it’s a lot of orientation type stuff, getting used to everything and everyone, and nothing is super hard yet. I’m trying to get ahead though. A lot of it is undergrad x1000 right now so I recognize it BUT am spending some time really focusing on certain aspects/connections/processes, etc.

I’m in a good place right now. I’m confident. I’m ready. I’m so excited to be here.

People kept saying “you can’t comprehend what all of this means yet, but you will.” I don’t think I’ve had THAT moment yet; but I’ve come close. I got off the bus at Longwood Medical Area yesterday and took my time walking to the school. I passed some other cool and important buildings on the way there: Harvard Dental School, some Univeristy of Massachusetts medically focused buildings and institutions, some hospitals, and lots more that I don’t remember off the top of my head.

Sometime during that walk, I remember thinking about all of the times that I was sitting in the USF library into the wee hours of the morning prepping for an exam, or multiple that day, and would daydream about this moment. Then I would get pissed at myself for wasting a half hour of opportune study time. But here it was— that moment that I had been working so fucking hard for… it was here.

It is here. I’m living the dream. It’s still so surreal. I’m sure the euphoria of it all will fade with my first exam and once the stress really begins, but that’s okay.

I know that for the next four years, my life is going to completely change in so many amazing ways. I’m going to be tested like I’ve never been tested before. I’m going to be mentally exhausted like I’ve never been before. I’m going to learn so much in this next chapter, I’m super fucking excited about it. I don’t want to be that person that just gets by. I want to stand out. I want to become the best physician that I can possibly become– in every aspect of what it means to be a physician. It’s going to be an incredible, life-changing ride.

It’s time.

Chase your dreams, people! Never give up on them. This feeling is incredible.

Much love, xoxoxo ❀️❀️

One thought on “Out with the old, in with the new.

Add yours

  1. It’s no surprise that you are now. Your drive, commitment & passion to make a difference will ensure you WILL standout. 😘

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

